Banks New Zealand


Banks New Zealand
ANZ Bank
ASB Bank
BNZ Bank
Citi Bank
Deutsche Bank
Kiwibank Bank
National Bank
Rabobank Bank
SBS Bank
TSB Bank
Westpac Bank

  Banks Singapore
  Banks Australia

National Bank New Zealand
National Bank New Zealand

About National Bank New Zealand:
The National Bank of New Zealand is part of ANZ National Bank Limited, which is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Melbourne-based Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited (ANZ).

Founded in London in 1872, the aim of The National Bank was "to extend to the colony of New Zealand the additional banking accommodation which the rapid increase of the population and remarkable development of the mineral, pastoral and agricultural resources of the colony so urgently demand".

The National Bank first opened its doors in 1873 with branches in Wellington, Auckland and Christchurch. Soon afterwards the new bank took over the 13 branches of the then ailing Bank of Otago. These were to provide a source of valuable farming contacts.

Throughout much of its history, The National Bank provided banking service to mainly rural, personal and small business customers. Growth was steady with the 100th branch opening in 1963.

During 1972 The National Bank extended its range of services to wholesale banking.

A major ongoing commitment to farming was further confirmed in 1992, when The National Bank purchased the New Zealand farmers' bank - the Rural Bank. And during 1998, The National Bank purchased Countrywide Banking Corporation. The Bank's position in both personal and business markets was strengthened significantly when, on 13 September 1999, the two banks merged operating systems and became one team.

In December 2003, the ANZ Banking Group purchased The National Bank from Lloyds TSB.

Today The National Bank has all the benefits of belonging to a major Australasian financial group, yet it remains very much committed to assisting New Zealand and New Zealanders.

The National Bank's distinctive Black Horse logo had its beginnings in London in 1677 when it was first adopted by Humphrey Stockes, a goldsmith and 'keeper of the running cashes', an early term for banker. When Lloyds Bank took over the site in 1884 it became the symbol of Lloyds Bank and then The National Bank of New Zealand in 1978, when Head Office transferred from London to New Zealand.

National Bank New Zealand Website:

National Contact Information:
0800 18 18 18